English

Course Contacts

Head of Department: 

A. Lane  ( lanea@turton.uk.com )

2nd in Department (Head of KS5 Language):

N. Travis ( travisn@turton.uk.com )

Head of KS5 Literature:

D. Johnson ( johnsond@turton.uk.com )

Head of KS3

L. Murphy ( murphyl@turton.uk.com )

Teaching Staff: 

A. Golland ( gollanda@turton.uk.com )

C. Baily ( bailyc@turton.uk.com )

C. Brindle ( brindlec@turton.uk.com )

F. Grainger ( graingerf@turton.uk.com )

K. Bradley-Law ( bradley-lawk@turton.uk.com )

L. Smith ( smithl@turton.uk.com )

L. Murphy ( murphyl@turton.uk.com )

R. Bali ( balir@turton.uk.com )

R. Wright ( wrightr@turton.uk.com )

U. Hodgson ( hodgsonu@turton.uk.com )

S. Matthews ( matthewss@turton.uk.com )

I. Taylor ( taylori@turton.uk.com )

R. Finley ( finleyr@turton.uk.com )

J. Brown ( brownj@turton.uk.com )

M. O'Donnell ( odonnellm@turton.uk.com )

English offers three great crafts: communication, interpretation and imagination. Throughout their years at Turton, pupils earn these crafts via three routes: they get a grounding in all aspects of reading, writing, literacy and context  – the grammar; wrangle with the deeper implications of a variety of literary and language texts – the dialectic; and they hone their creative, functional and analytical writing skills – the rhetoric. This is one seamless journey: from year seven to year thirteen; from dependent to independent; from emerging to mastery.

To see what we’re up to on a day-to-day basis, and to find great home learning tools, go to our blog at:  https://englishatturton.edublogs.org/